Sunrise Elementary — Palm Bay, Florida

The Brevard Public Schools elementary on Mara Loma Boulevard in southeast Palm Bay: where it is, who attends, and how the state grades it.


Short answer: Sunrise Elementary is a Brevard Public Schools elementary at 1651 Mara Loma Blvd. SE, Palm Bay, FL 32909, serving prekindergarten through grade 6. NCES counted 907 students in 2024-2025 with 57.00 classroom teachers. The Florida Department of Education graded Sunrise a B for 2025-26 with 59 percent of points, its B in every graded year since 2015 after A grades from 2007 through 2014.

Last verified: October 13, 2026, against the sources listed at the end of this page.

Where is Sunrise Elementary in Palm Bay and what grades does it serve?

Sunrise Elementary is a Brevard Public Schools campus at 1651 Mara Loma Blvd. SE in Palm Bay, FL 32909, and it teaches prekindergarten through grade 6.

The school site footer gives the full contact block: Sunrise Elementary, 1651 Mara Loma Blvd. SE, Palm Bay, FL 32909, phone 321-674-6145 and fax 321-877-0937 (Sunrise Elementary website). The federal Common Core of Data directory for 2025-2026 matches that street address, lists the school as a regular school that is open and not a charter, and gives its grade span as PK through 6 (NCES school record).

Sunrise Elementary keeps its sixth graders on the Mara Loma campus, and the school music program describes itself as instructing all students, K-6 (Sunrise Elementary programs). The same NCES record files Sunrise under State School ID FL-05-2221 in State District FL-05, Brevard, and the state school grades file lists Sunrise as school number 2221 in district 05 (FLDOE 2025-26 school grades).

Sunrise Elementary at a glance (read October 12, 2026)
ItemValueSource
Address1651 Mara Loma Blvd. SE, Palm Bay, FL 32909School site, NCES
Phone and fax321-674-6145; fax 321-877-0937School site
GradesPK through 6NCES
Students, 2024-2025907NCES
Classroom teachers (FTE)57.00NCES
State grade, 2025-26B (59 percent of points)FLDOE
Title I schoolNoFLDOE

NCES codes the Sunrise Elementary location as Rural, Fringe (41) (NCES). By comparison, the same federal directory codes Turner Elementary on Jupiter Boulevard and Westside Elementary on DeGroodt Road as City, Midsize (NCES Turner record; NCES Westside record). The City of Palm Bay counts eleven public elementary schools, three middle schools, three high schools and three charter schools in the city (City of Palm Bay new resident information), and Sunrise is one of those eleven elementary schools.

How many students attend Sunrise Elementary?

Sunrise Elementary enrolled 907 students in the 2024-2025 school year, with 57.00 full-time-equivalent classroom teachers and a student to teacher ratio of 15.91, according to NCES (NCES school record).

Sunrise Elementary enrollment by grade, 2024-2025 (NCES)
GradeStudents
Prekindergarten25
Kindergarten136
Grade 1127
Grade 2119
Grade 3137
Grade 4128
Grade 5117
Grade 6118

The Sunrise Elementary grade counts are even from kindergarten to grade 6, between 117 and 137 students per grade on the Mara Loma campus, with the largest group in grade 3. The prekindergarten group is small at 25 students. The school site lists a VPK page among its parent links (Sunrise Elementary website), although NCES does not split its prekindergarten count by program.

NCES counts 461 boys and 446 girls at Sunrise Elementary. By race and ethnicity the 2024-2025 count was 495 White, 152 Black, 152 Hispanic, 95 of two or more races, 10 Asian and 3 American Indian or Alaska Native students (NCES enrollment characteristics). White students are 495 of 907, or about 55 percent, which is a larger share than at Turner Elementary, where NCES counts 212 White students out of 600 (NCES Turner record).

On meal eligibility, 387 Sunrise Elementary students qualified for free lunch and 64 for reduced-price lunch, 451 in total, about half of the 907 enrolled (NCES). The state report for school grades uses a different measure and lists Sunrise at 82.6 percent economically disadvantaged students (FLDOE 2025-26 school grades), so the two numbers should not be compared as if they described the same thing.

What school grade did Sunrise Elementary earn for 2025-26?

Sunrise Elementary earned a B for 2025-26, with 473 points across eight components, or 59 percent of the points possible, and it tested 99 percent of eligible students (FLDOE 2025-26 school grades).

Florida grades Sunrise Elementary and every other elementary school on a fixed scale. An A takes 62 percent of points or greater, a B covers 54 to 61 percent, and a C covers 41 to 53 percent (FLDOE grading scale). At 59 percent, Sunrise sat three percentage points below the A line (62 minus 59) and five points above the bottom of the B band (59 minus 54).

Sunrise Elementary 2025-26 school grade components (FLDOE, as of September 1, 2026)
ComponentPercent
Grade 3 English Language Arts achievement54
English Language Arts achievement60
English Language Arts learning gains64
ELA learning gains, lowest 25 percent59
Mathematics achievement63
Mathematics learning gains70
Math learning gains, lowest 25 percent56
Science achievement47

Mathematics is the strong side of the Sunrise Elementary report. Math learning gains of 70 were the highest of the eight components, and math achievement at 63 was above English Language Arts achievement at 60 (FLDOE component scores). Science achievement at 47 was the lowest component, 16 points below the math learning gains score on the same Sunrise row.

The learning gains rows on the Sunrise Elementary report matter because state law grades schools on growth as well as scores. Section 1008.34, Florida Statutes, counts the percentage of eligible students in the lowest 25 percent in English Language Arts, as identified by prior year performance, who make learning gains, and the same for mathematics (Section 1008.34, Florida Statutes). Sunrise posted 59 and 56 on those two rows.

How has the Sunrise Elementary grade changed since 2007?

Sunrise Elementary earned an A in every graded year from 2007 through 2014 and has earned a B in every graded year since, including 2015 through 2019 and 2022 through 2026, according to the FLDOE grade history (FLDOE grade history).

Sunrise Elementary letter grades by year (FLDOE 2025-26 file)
YearsGradeNote
2007 to 2014A each yearFirst graded year in the file is 2007
2015BInformational baseline year
2016 to 2019B each yearNo grades for 2020 or 2021 in the file
2022B
2023BInformational baseline year
2024 to 2026B each year

The state file carries no Sunrise Elementary grade before 2007, while older Palm Bay schools such as Westside Elementary and Turner Elementary show grades back to 1999 in the same spreadsheet (FLDOE grade history). The state file does not give an opening date, so this page does not state one.

Two years in the Sunrise Elementary record are marked as informational baselines. For 2022-2023, state law says the grades served as an informational baseline, and because learning gains data were missing that year, the grading scale was set so that the share of A, B, C, D and F schools matched 2021-2022 (Section 1008.34, Florida Statutes). The 2023 B on Sunrise's record therefore was not calculated the same way as the 2024, 2025 and 2026 grades.

The district around Sunrise Elementary graded higher. Brevard Public Schools as a district earned an A in 2026, 2025 and 2024 (FLDOE 2025-26 district grades), so the Mara Loma Boulevard school is one of the campuses below the district letter, not above it.

How does Sunrise compare with other Palm Bay elementary schools?

Of the five Palm Bay elementary schools compared here, Sunrise Elementary ranked third for 2025-26 at 59 percent of points, behind Riviera at 72 and Port Malabar at 65 (FLDOE 2025-26 school grades).

Selected Palm Bay elementary schools, 2025-26 percent of points and grade (FLDOE)
SchoolPercent of points2026 gradeStudents 2024-25 (NCES)
Riviera Elementary72Anot listed here
Port Malabar Elementary65Anot listed here
Sunrise Elementary59B907
Westside Elementary58B984
John F. Turner Sr. Elementary52C600

Riviera Elementary posted 72 percent and an A, and Port Malabar Elementary posted 65 percent and an A in the same release (FLDOE, Riviera row; FLDOE, Port Malabar row). Westside Elementary on DeGroodt Road SW, the largest of the three schools compared here by NCES enrollment at 984 students (NCES Westside record), earned 58 percent and a B (FLDOE, Westside row). Turner Elementary on Jupiter Boulevard earned 52 percent and a C (FLDOE, Turner row).

Size sets Sunrise apart as well. In the NCES search of Palm Bay public schools, Sunrise Elementary is listed with 907 students in PK through 6 (NCES school search), about 300 more than the 600 at Turner Elementary on Jupiter Boulevard (NCES Turner record). A parent comparing Palm Bay schools on letter grade alone would miss that Sunrise and Westside are both large B schools with very different component profiles: Westside is stronger in grade 3 reading, and Sunrise is stronger in math growth.

What programs does Sunrise Elementary list for families?

The Sunrise Elementary website lists a VPK page, Brevard After School, a Purple Star page for military families, New Worlds Reading, a School Advisory Council page and the Sea Turtle Nation News feed for the Mara Loma campus (Sunrise Elementary website).

Music and physical education are the programs the Sunrise home page describes in its own words. Elementary physical education classes focus on instruction to develop motor skills, knowledge, and behaviors for physical activity and fitness, and the music program teaches K-6 students through instruments, singing and movement (Sunrise Elementary programs).

Sunrise Elementary is not a Title I school in the 2025-26 state file, which flags Title I with a NO on its row (FLDOE 2025-26 school grades). That separates it from Turner Elementary, which carries the Title I flag (FLDOE, Turner row). The Purple Star page reflects a district program: Brevard Public Schools announced on December 18, 2024 that it had been named a Purple Star District by the Florida Department of Education, with 91 Purple Star Schools in the district (Brevard Public Schools, December 18, 2024). That announcement does not list schools by name, so this page does not state whether Sunrise holds the school-level designation.

The school posts its supply list ahead of each year. The Sunrise Elementary news page carries the 2026-2027 School Supply List, posted on June 16, 2025 (Sunrise Elementary news). For enrollment, bus and zone questions, the school's own front office at 321-674-6145 is the first call; county-wide registration rules belong to Brevard Public Schools rather than the City of Palm Bay.

Last verified: October 12, 2026, against the Sunrise Elementary website, the NCES school directory and the FLDOE 2025-26 school grades file.

Frequently asked questions

What is the address and phone number of Sunrise Elementary in Palm Bay?

Sunrise Elementary is at 1651 Mara Loma Blvd. SE, Palm Bay, FL 32909. The school site lists the front office phone as 321-674-6145 and the fax as 321-877-0937. The NCES federal directory for 2025-2026 gives the same street address.

Does Sunrise Elementary go up to grade 6?

Yes. NCES lists the Sunrise Elementary grade span as PK through 6, and it counted 118 sixth graders in 2024-2025. NCES also lists Turner Elementary and Westside Elementary in Palm Bay with a PK through 6 grade span.

What grade did Sunrise Elementary get in 2026?

The Florida Department of Education gave Sunrise Elementary a B for 2025-26, released as of September 1, 2026. The school earned 473 points, 59 percent of the possible total, and tested 99 percent of eligible students. An A for an elementary school takes 62 percent.

How many students go to Sunrise Elementary?

NCES counted 907 students at Sunrise Elementary in the 2024-2025 school year, from 25 prekindergarten children to 118 sixth graders, taught by 57.00 full-time-equivalent classroom teachers for a ratio of 15.91 students per teacher.

Is Sunrise Elementary a Title I school?

No. The FLDOE 2025-26 school grades file marks Sunrise Elementary with NO in its Title I column, while it reports 82.6 percent economically disadvantaged students. NCES separately counts 451 Sunrise students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch in 2024-2025.

Sources

  1. NCES Common Core of Data school detail: Sunrise Elementary School (120015004246) https://nces.ed.gov/ccd/schoolsearch/school_detail.asp?Search=1&InstName=Sunrise&City=Palm+Bay&State=12&ID=120015004246 Used for: address, grade span, 2024-2025 enrollment by grade, race, gender, lunch eligibility, teachers, locale
  2. NCES public school search: Sunrise, Palm Bay https://nces.ed.gov/ccd/schoolsearch/school_list.asp?Search=1&InstName=Sunrise&City=Palm+Bay&State=12 Used for: search listing with 907 students PK-6
  3. Sunrise Elementary, Brevard Public Schools https://sunrise.brevardschools.org/ Used for: address, phone, fax, programs, menu items
  4. Sunrise Elementary news: 2026-2027 School Supply List https://sunrise.brevardschools.org/o/sues/article/1638796 Used for: supply list post date
  5. FLDOE 2025-26 School Grades, Sunrise row 149, points https://www.fldoe.org/file/18534/SchoolGrades26.xlsx#sheet=School%20Grades%202026&cell=R149 Used for: points, percent, tested, grade
  6. FLDOE 2025-26 School Grades, grading scale note https://www.fldoe.org/file/18534/SchoolGrades26.xlsx#sheet=School%20Grades%202026&cell=C2 Used for: elementary scale
  7. FLDOE 2025-26 School Grades, Sunrise components https://www.fldoe.org/file/18534/SchoolGrades26.xlsx#sheet=School%20Grades%202026&cell=F149 Used for: component scores
  8. FLDOE 2025-26 School Grades, Sunrise recent grades https://www.fldoe.org/file/18534/SchoolGrades26.xlsx#sheet=School%20Grades%202026&cell=V149 Used for: 2022-2026 grades
  9. FLDOE 2025-26 School Grades, Sunrise 2007-2014 grades https://www.fldoe.org/file/18534/SchoolGrades26.xlsx#sheet=School%20Grades%202026&cell=AN149 Used for: A grades 2007-2014, first graded year
  10. FLDOE 2025-26 School Grades, Sunrise Title I and economically disadvantaged https://www.fldoe.org/file/18534/SchoolGrades26.xlsx#sheet=School%20Grades%202026&cell=BC149 Used for: Title I NO, 82.6 percent
  11. FLDOE 2025-26 School Grades, Sunrise Title I column https://www.fldoe.org/file/18534/SchoolGrades26.xlsx#sheet=School%20Grades%202026&cell=AZ149 Used for: Title I flag
  12. FLDOE 2025-26 School Grades, Sunrise percent of points https://www.fldoe.org/file/18534/SchoolGrades26.xlsx#sheet=School%20Grades%202026&cell=T149 Used for: 59 percent
  13. FLDOE 2025-26 School Grades, Riviera Elementary https://www.fldoe.org/file/18534/SchoolGrades26.xlsx#sheet=School%20Grades%202026&cell=T145 Used for: comparison
  14. FLDOE 2025-26 School Grades, Port Malabar Elementary https://www.fldoe.org/file/18534/SchoolGrades26.xlsx#sheet=School%20Grades%202026&cell=T136 Used for: comparison
  15. FLDOE 2025-26 School Grades, Westside Elementary https://www.fldoe.org/file/18534/SchoolGrades26.xlsx#sheet=School%20Grades%202026&cell=T148 Used for: comparison
  16. FLDOE 2025-26 School Grades, Turner Elementary https://www.fldoe.org/file/18534/SchoolGrades26.xlsx#sheet=School%20Grades%202026&cell=T140 Used for: comparison
  17. FLDOE 2025-26 District Grades, Brevard https://www.fldoe.org/file/18534/DistrictGrades26.xlsx#sheet=DG&cell=S9 Used for: district grade A 2024-2026
  18. Section 1008.34, Florida Statutes (2025) https://www.flsenate.gov/Laws/Statutes/2025/1008.34 Used for: grade components, informational baseline
  19. City of Palm Bay new resident information https://www.palmbayfl.gov/our-city/new-resident-information Used for: count of public schools in Palm Bay
  20. Brevard Public Schools: Purple Star District with 91 Schools Recognized (December 18, 2024) https://brevardschools.org/article/1932307 Used for: district Purple Star designation
  21. NCES Common Core of Data school detail: John F. Turner Senior Elementary School (120015002281) https://nces.ed.gov/ccd/schoolsearch/school_detail.asp?Search=1&InstName=Turner&City=Palm+Bay&State=12&ID=120015002281 Used for: Turner locale City, Midsize; 600 students; 212 White; PK-6 span (comparison)
  22. NCES Common Core of Data school detail: Westside Elementary School (120015003294) https://nces.ed.gov/ccd/schoolsearch/school_detail.asp?Search=1&InstName=Westside&City=Palm+Bay&State=12&ID=120015003294 Used for: Westside locale City, Midsize; 984 students; PK-6 span (comparison)
  23. FLDOE 2025-26 School Grades, Sunrise row 149, school number https://www.fldoe.org/file/18534/SchoolGrades26.xlsx#sheet=School%20Grades%202026&cell=C149 Used for: school number 2221, district 05
  24. FLDOE 2025-26 School Grades, Turner row 140, Title I https://www.fldoe.org/file/18534/SchoolGrades26.xlsx#sheet=School%20Grades%202026&cell=AZ140 Used for: Turner Title I flag YES (comparison)
Last updated: October 13, 2026

Continue exploring

Photo credits